Skip to content

Thoughts on the new Apple iPad and the Tablets that I want!

February 5, 2010

Apple recently announced the apple iPad, and as much as I love my iPod Touch, I certainly don’t see myself playing with an XXXL one. To make matters worse, the home button of my iPod Touch gave in a mere 2 weeks after my apple care extended warranty expired, a fact the paid genius-bar sheep was all to happy to bleat at me. The giant iPad also uses that home button, so I took this as good foreshadowing! Interesting enough, one of my closet friends and non-paid apple shriller is hell bent on getting the iTampon (too easy). Every time I tried to bring up a valid reason against buying the iPod-Touch-on-steroids, he’d bleat at me “Apple Good, Everything else bad”. He’d bleat it if I said “no multi tasking”. He’d bleat it if I mentioned the lack of usb ports or even an sd card reader. Bleat he did when I groaned about the lack of a camera or wireless syncing. I gave up trying to pull the wool from over his eyes and started thinking about some of the gadgets that I could look forward to.

The Dell Mini 5

This is my next music player. Since my iPod’s home button dug itself an early grave, and I’m expecting the power button to follow suit, I will be in the market for a replacement. The dell mini 5 interestingly is larger than the iPod Touch, but smaller than the iPad. At 5 inches, I think its the perfect size for comfortable gaming, browsing the web, emailing, playing music and doing all those awesome things the iPod can do. However, it beats the iPod Touch by a MILE and comfortably challenges the iPad. Here’s why

5.0 megapixel camera with flash. Snap!

Multi tasking , 3G (You can freaking make calls! ditch your cellphone!), GPS! Wifi and Bluetooth of course!

Android with all its apps and games! Screen supports multi touch!

I say dell might have a winner! Now please be under $500 WITHOUT any 3g contract and soul selling to AT&T!

The Lenovo IdeaPad UI

I am a college student, currently majoring in Computer Science. I believe I’m part of that tasty market Steve Jobs is out to devour, because I do all my computing from a netbook. Yes my main computer is the Asus Eeepc 1000he, a slim, light and affordable netbook running  Microsoft’s saving grace OS, Windows 7 like a charm. I also dual boot Apple’s Snow Leopard! However, if Jobs had his way, netbooks (along with flash, multi tasking and styli) would be kaput and I’d be finger tapping away at their “magical invention”. I hate to disappoint apple, but no I am not giving up my trusty 10.1 inch netbook for the glorified maxi pad (too easy) but for the Lenovo Hybrid baby, I’d give up the goods! Here’s why

By day, the U1 looks like a normal, albeit stylish 11.6 inch windows 7 laptop with respectable specs (Intel CULV processor ,128GB SSD, 3gb ram). However by night, this sexy thing transforms into a slim, sleek tablet, by simply undocking the screen!

The tablet portion supports  multitouch and runs Linux (Lenovo’s touch friendly SkyLight version) with the fantastic Qualcomm ARM 1Ghz Snapdragon processor. Yes, its almost like 2 devices, the laptop is windows, tablet is Linux but the possibilities are endless! Undock the tablet and lie in bed browsing the web, chatting with webcam!, ebooks, and games! Then dock it for some serious work, typing up a paper, doing a spreadsheet or whatever you “seriously” do!

There it is folks, the two tablets I am excited about! One is 5 inch Dell Mini 5, which runs android, has phone capabilities and that (suck it apple) 5.0 mega pixel camera. The other is innovative and fresh , a laptop by day and super tablet by night!(or whenever you please). Chime in folks. What gadgets are your smacking your lips for?

Check out Early hands on and reviews on the two tablets via

Lenovo IdeaPad U1 (Gizmodo) (Engadget)

Dell Mini 5 quick preview (Engadget)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mariam S. permalink
    February 6, 2010 3:24 am

    Pretty much one of the best posts xD love the tablets!! Mayb im considering to get one too 😛

    • February 6, 2010 12:07 pm

      Thanks! 🙂 I know right! I am excited to get my hands on these babies! Also on my list is that SLR!

  2. February 21, 2010 6:13 am

    As nice as the other tablets are and as not worthy of buying as the iPad is now, I’d still go for the iPad cus I lost my faith in anything thats PC or Windows hehe.

    • February 21, 2010 10:16 am

      Thats understandable, however I think Microsoft has improved considerably this past year, with their successful launch of Windows 7 (An excellent OS compared to Snow Leopard) and the Zune HD, though not as commercially successful as the iPod, it is an excellent product. Also just last week Microsoft announced their brand new phone OS, Windows Phone 7 Series, a major departure from their awful windows mobile platform, designed from scratch. It has gotten rave reviews so far. I think people’s faith in the Windows platform will face an up-tick.

Trackbacks

  1. Gadget Post: Microsoft is on a creative high « Photographs by Seon

Leave a Reply

