Skip to content

Ice Skating is harder than it looks

February 21, 2010

The Winter Olympics is in full steam(freeze?) and America’s Evan Lysacek, a 6’2” tall man with spidery arms won a gold medal for figure skating like a swan.  Must be a piece of cake right? Think again.

When I moved to Buffalo NY, I made a list of things I should do to take advantage of Buffalo’s infamous winter; Skiing, Snowboarding, Skating, Ice Fishing and a “not related to the cold” quick trip to Toronto Canada for the Carnival. This week, the University at Buffalo held its annual winterfests, and skating was one of  its highlights, so two friends and I headed to South Lake Village on campus.

When I was younger I broke my left hand attempting to Rollerblade down a hill. I had to wear casts for 2 months, then when they sawed the casts off, my bone was sticking out of place. Just great! Had to take an operation to stick said bone back in place and wear casts another two months. Meanwhile, I stuck anything I could in the cast to ease the itching; a knife, fork, pen, anything! It was terror. Buts that’s another story. I put the skates on again for another stab at it, this time with a blade instead of wheels!

Check out the video of “What not to do: when ice skating!

Vodpod videos no longer available.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mariam S. permalink
    February 22, 2010 2:20 pm

    Yayy Kuwaiit ppl..!! Lol 🙂

  2. February 24, 2010 4:04 pm

    Ouch! Haha. I’ve only gone ice skating twice before but I didn’t fall. Mainly because I never let go of the railing 😛

Leave a Reply

