Skip to content

The Empire State of mind

March 10, 2010
NYC The #1 city in the world, originally uploaded by photographsbyseon.

Looking back on my path to manhood, I see age seventeen as the year I took that first step. I had just graduated high school in Trinidad, and on the morning of my prom, my application for permanent residency in the United States was approved. Going to the dance was bitter sweet; I knew it’d be the last time I see many of the people I grew up with and life as I knew it was going to forever change. However excitement was coursing through my veins as my date and I slow danced to Alicia Keys “Fallin”. I had already fallen in love with the idea of living in New York City.

Fast forward today, 6 years later, things haven’t exactly pan out the way I planned. I dropped out and back in college, moved upstate to Buffalo and have finally gotten around to getting my driver’s permit. Non the less, I don’t regret much about my life in this great city at all. I have met so many wonderful people, some who still play an important role in my life today! I have worked in the upscale grocery store -The Food Emporium, the Regal/Lowes movie  theatre on Times Square, and even the Barnes and Nobles bookstore on Fifth Avenue.  I’ve drunk in the sights from Central Park to China Town, Little Italy to Coney Island, but most importantly, like every genuine New Yorker, I have danced to the hip hop tribute of the greatest city on earth, “The Empire State of Mind” by Jay Z featuring Alicia Keys.

Enjoy!

You can see my New York City photoset from Flickr here

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 1:40 am

    The rating I gave for this post gain +1 point for the Alicia Keys reference.

Leave a Reply

