Skip to content

A few words and Tips

March 27, 2010
Duck and Geese, originally uploaded by photographsbyseon.

I have been MIA since I got back from my spring break in NYC. College does that to you I suppose, or is it that professors take some perverse pleasure in grading heaps of work. I’ve been consumed with programming, Spanish and boring sleep inducing lectures on Environmental changes.

I also recently started a wonderful job as an student assistant in the IT department for a Research facility associated with UB. The few spare moments that I’ve had are spent in the gym, sleeping or trying my hand at coding for the upcoming Windows Phone 7 Series.(expect a future blurb about that.)

The good news is I haven’t given up on my photography hobby and on my way to the gym today I saw a pair of ducks just floating about the man made pond at the apartments.

Tip #1 A photographer is always with his camera.
My best shots are usually the ones taken by chance, not the ones I planned! The good thing about the compact digital camera is that it can always be on your person, in a purse or a man purse if you’re the type of man who is confident enough to go sashaying about with this accessory. Up next is the man-skirt, but thats another thing.

Tip#2 A photographer needs to be confident and patient.

I say this because I’ve been observing these birds for quite some time. They almost always rove in pairs or groups. While one pecks about the ground, the other keeps his head up keeping a look out for approaching danger or irritating photographers. Get too close, they quickly slink away. A mighty SLR with 10X zoom might all about eliminate the need to get close, but a compact digital comes with 3X-5X zoom. You’re going to want to get closer if you want to get a nice, sharp detailed shot. So be patient, ignore the stares of passers by. Trust me they may think you’re a dork, but deep down their macho or facho(female) inside, they envy you and want to go about snapping at the world.

So fellow amateur photographer, keep your tools with you: camera gear, patience and confidence and snap away!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 12:01 am

    Beautiful shots !! I really love the water in the first one being rippled then flat – amazing!! Great Eye!

    • March 28, 2010 6:03 pm

      Thank you for your kind words! I also enjoyed perusing through your own photos as well! Keep it up!

      • March 28, 2010 6:04 pm

        Thanks 🙂 Have a great day !!!

Leave a Reply

